Skip to main content

Yilu Liu, the joint UT–Oak Ridge National Laboratory Governor’s Chair for Electric Power Grids, has been named a newly elected member of the National Academy of Engineering.

YiluLiuBeing elected to the academy is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Lui was elected “for her innovations in electric power grid monitoring, situational awareness, and dynamic modeling,” according to the NAE. She is one of thirty-four American university professors from the group of eighty engineers chosen from across the United States.

“To be recognized by the National Academy of Engineering is confirmation of the value that our work holds for the modern society,” said Liu. “Not only that, but it validates all of the hours, effort, and research put in by people at UT and ORNL.”

She added that the award might help her and her fellow faculty members at UT and ORNL attract more high-end students.

Liu, who serves as a professor of electrical engineering and computer science, becomes the fifth member of the College of Engineering so honored.

She joins John Fisher Distinguished Professor Mark Dean and University Distinguished Professor Jack Dongarra, both of computer science; fellow UT-ORNL Governor’s Chair for Nuclear Materials Steven Zinkle of nuclear engineering; and George Pharr, Chancellor’s Professor and McKamey Professor of Engineering, director of the Joint Institute of Advanced Materials, and joint faculty scientist in the materials science and technology division at the ORNL.

Liu is also a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and deputy director of CURENT (Center for Ultra-Wide-Area-Resilient Electric Energy Transmission Networks) Engineering Research Center at UT.

“This is a great honor for Dr. Liu and our university, and we are proud that she’s being recognized,” said Chancellor Jimmy G. Cheek. “Having faculty of this caliber on our campus, and having their contributions acknowledged by the National Academy, underscores the quality of our education and research. It is clear that the work being done on our campus is changing the world for the better.”

Liu’s research at UT, ORNL, and CURENT focuses on smart-grid technologies in electrical power production and distribution, with an eye on developing new and better ways to monitor and understand the flow of electrical energy through the nation’s power grid.

“This prestigious honor highlights the immense value of Yilu’s efforts to understand and enhance the flow of electrical energy through the nation’s power grid,” said ORNL Director Thom Mason. “A reliable, efficient grid is essential for the nation’s security, economy, and way of life, and her exceptional work illustrates the benefit of combining the strengths of the university and a national laboratory.

“Yilu’s research is of vital importance, and her recognition by the National Academy of Engineering is well deserved.”

NAE President C. D. Mote Jr. said that academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education … the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

UT alumnus Warren Oliver, president of Nanomechanics Inc. of Oak Ridge, Tennessee, was also elected. He is a 1976 engineering graduate and studied materials science.



Amy Blakely (865-974-5034,