Skip to main content

UT’s Center for Transportation Research has reaffirmed its status as a preeminent research center by announcing the establishment of the Faculty Fellows Program.

From left: Sawhney, Cherry, Richards, Holcomb, and Shaw

The program serves as a way to recognize leading faculty at the center and to help improve the level of research and collaboration between researchers.

A modest stipend is included with the selection in the hope that the funds will help with both of those goals.

The inaugural class is composed of five faculty:

  • Rapinder Sawhney, Heath Fellow in Business and Engineering, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Christopher Cherry, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Jennifer Richards, Department of Food Science and Technology
  • Mary C. Holcomb, Department of Marketing and Supply Chain Management
  • Shih-Lung Shaw, Alvin and Sally Beaman Professor of Geography and director of the UT Confucius Institute

“I hope that our faculty fellows can play an active role in advising me on future directions for the center,” said Director David Clarke, also a research associate professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering.

“We also hope they can interact with center staff and other affiliated faculty to further their research interests.”

The center was created in 1970 with the goal of fostering development and research in the field of transportation, and operates under the College of Engineering.

C O N T A C T :

David Goddard (865-974-0683,