Skip to main content

Several students in the College of Engineering‘s Department of Nuclear Engineering received a nice start to the summer, as the Nuclear Energy University Programs announced its most recent award recipients, with UT netting nine undergraduate scholarships and three graduate fellowships.

Sponsored by the US Department of Energy’s Integrated University Program, undergraduate winners receive a $5,000 scholarship, while the graduate fellowship winners receive $50,000 annually over three years, as well as $5,000 toward summer internships at national laboratories or other approved locations.

“Having our students selected for these honors is a validation of the things we’ve got going on in our college,” said Dean Wayne Davis. “For our students to be recognized like this speaks to their dedication, innovation, and commitment to their work.”

The goal of the program is to strengthen ties between students and the DOE’s nuclear energy research programs. Students are expected to take on studies of some of the challenges facing the industry today, including sustainability and efficiency.

The nine scholarships break UT’s previous high of six, and represent the most awarded to any university, while the three fellowships are tied for the most in this year’s awards.

The three graduate students awarded fellowships are Daniel Hamm, Elizabeth Jones, and Ryan Sweet.

The nine undergraduate students awarded scholarships are Sarah Combee, Kaitlyn Darby, Travis Labossiere-Hickman, Tucker McClanahan, Danielle McFall, Gregory Meinweiser, Mikah Rust, Whitney Smith, and Alyxandria Wszolek.

C O N T A C T :

David Goddard (865-974-0683,