Skip to main content

With five faculty members now on Fulbright exchanges, the University of Tennessee is one of the Fulbright Program’s “top producers” for 2013–14. UT ranks in the top ten of research universities for its number of current Fulbright recipients.

The Fulbright Program is a prestigious international exchange initiative that awards about 1,100 grants to American scholars each year. Funded by the U.S. government, Fulbright Scholars are chosen based on their leadership and academic merits and their abilities to teach, conduct research, and contribute to solutions for shared international concerns.

A complete list of top institutions and an article about the program can be viewed in the October 28 edition of the Chronicle of Higher Education.

This year’s Fulbright scholars include four members of the Knoxville campus faculty: Wanda Costen, associate professor in the Department of Retail, Hospitality, and Tourism Management; Scott Frey, professor of sociology and co-director of the Center for the Study of Social Justice; Rebecca Klenk, lecturer in interdisciplinary programs and affiliated faculty member with the Department of Anthropology and the Disaster, Displacement, and Human Rights Program; and Melanie Eldridge, formerly a research assistant professor in the Department of Microbiology. Timothy Young, a professor the Center for Renewable Carbon at the Institute of Agriculture, also is a recipient.

The Fulbright Program’s sponsor, the US Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, and the Institute of International Education acknowledged the efforts of Fulbright Scholar Program campus representatives Alan Rutenberg, Pia C. Wood, and Nichole Fazio-Veigel for their work to ensure the program’s success at UT.

“The work of these individuals enhances our fantastic faculty’s research and teaching in their fields,” said Chancellor Jimmy G. Cheek. “These fellowships are a wonderful testament to our faculty and their scholarship. We continue to engage the world with our scholarship.”

Since its establishment in 1946, the Fulbright Program has given approximately 310,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and scientists the opportunity to study, teach, and conduct research; exchange ideas; and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns. The Fulbright US Scholar Program is administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, a division of the Institute of International Education.

For more information, visit the Fulbright Program website.

C O N T A C T :

Whitney Heins (865-974-5460,