Skip to main content

Four UT faculty members have been selected as fellows for the Southeastern Conference’s 2013–2014 Academic Leadership Development Program.

UT’s fellows are Susan M. Benner, associate dean in the College of Education, Health and Human Sciences; Joanne M. Hall, professor in the College of Nursing; Veerle Keppens, associate dean for faculty affairs in the College of Engineering; and Annette L. Ranft, associate dean in the College of Business Administration.

They are among the forty-nine faculty and administrators from SEC schools who were chosen to participate in the program, a professional development initiative that seeks to identify, prepare, and advance academic leaders for roles within SEC institutions and beyond.

The program has two components: a university-level development curriculum designed by each institution for its own participants, and two three-day SEC-wide workshops held on specified campuses for all program participants.

The first workshop is to be held October 14 through 16, at the University of Georgia in Athens. The next will be February 5 through 7, 2014, at the University of South Carolina in Columbia.

The fellows program, established in 2008, fosters academic leadership among SEC faculty by allowing them the unique opportunity to address the challenges of academic administration at major research universities.


Karen Simsen (865-974-5186,