Skip to main content

EV Charging StationUT has opened twelve electric vehicle (EV) charging stations on campus available to the campus community and the public.

“These stations offer an opportunity for both the UT and Knoxville communities to work together to reduce our environmental impact,” Chancellor Jimmy G. Cheek said. “The UT community is committed to reducing our carbon footprint. These stations offer another resource to move us closer to our goal of being climate neutral.”

Half of the charging stations are located south of the Research Greenhouse on the UT Agriculture Campus, near the intersection of E. J. Chapman Drive and Jacob Drive. The remaining stations are located in Staff Lot S23 on the main campus, south of the former Student Health Center at Pat Head Summit Street and Andy Holt Avenue.

The charging stations are owned and operated by the San Francisco–based company ECOtality and require a Blink Network membership card or Blink guest access code for use. To obtain a card or guest access code, users can visit the Blink Network website and select the membership page. During the initial demonstration period, through April 30, 2013, there will be no cost to charge your vehicle.

Electric vehicle owners with a valid university student, faculty or staff parking permit can obtain a special EV permit from either Parking and Transit Services Offices at no additional charge to use the EV spaces and charging stations for up to four hours at a time. The general public may also use the spaces and stations if they acquire a visitors permit at the Circle Park information booth or either of the Parking and Transit Services offices.

UT is hosting the charging stations as part of the EV Project, the largest deployment of electric vehicles and charge infrastructure in history. Through a U.S. Department of Energy grant, ECOtality is placing approximately 14,000 chargers across the country.

For more on the EV Project, visit the website.

C O N T A C T :

Sydny Simpson (865-974-2510,

Whitney Heins (865-974-5460,