Skip to main content

Four faculty members have been selected as fellows for the Southeastern Conference’s 2012-13 Academic Leadership Development Program.

They are among the forty-six faculty and administrators from SEC schools who were chosen to participate in the program, a professional development initiative that seeks to identify, prepare, and advance academic leaders for roles within SEC institutions and beyond.

It has two components: a university-level development program designed by each institution for its own participants, and two three-day SEC-wide workshops held on specified campuses for all program participants.

The first workshop is being held this week at UT. The next will be February 6 to 8, 2013, at the University of Florida in Gainesville.

UT’s fellows are David A. Golden, a professor in the Department of Food Science and Technology; Catherine A. Luther, an associate dean in the College of Communication and Information; John Stier, an assistant dean in the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources; and Penny J. White, director of the Center for Advocacy and Dispute Resolution.

The fellows program, established in 2008, fosters academic leadership among SEC faculty by allowing them the unique opportunity to address the challenges of academic administration at major research universities.