Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE—Two faculty members from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, have been invited to serve as jurors for the Brock International Prize, a $40,000 award that recognizes an individual who has made a significant impact in the field of education.

Richard AllingtonRichard Allington, professor in theory and practice in teacher education, and Autumn Tooms, professor and director of the Center for Educational Leadership, will serve as jurors. Jurors represent the very best in their field in terms of leadership and innovation and include champions of education, politicians, business and government officials, and others committed to excellence in education. This is the first time that two people from the same college and university have been invited to serve on the Brock jury.

Allington, an expert on reading, serves on several editorial boards and previously served as co-editor of The Journal of Literacy Research. He is the author of more than one hundred research articles and several books for researchers and practitioners. Before coming to UT, Allington worked at the University of Florida and the University at Albany–SUNY. He has served as the president of the International Reading Association, as president of the National Reading Conference, and as a member of the International Reading Association Board of Directors. He is the co-recipient of the Albert J. Harris Award from IRA in recognition of his work contributing to the understanding of reading and learning disabilities and the William S. Gray Citation of Merit for his contributions to the profession. In addition Allington has been named to the IRA Reading Hall of Fame.

Autumn ToomsTooms is a former principal from Arizona who has been recognized nationally for her scholarship by various organizations, such as the National Association of Elementary School Principals and the American Educational Research Association. She is the fiftieth president of the premier research organization in the field of educational leadership, the University Council for Educational Administration. She is recipient of both the William J. Davis Award and the Paula Silver Award for her research centered on the politics of school leadership and school reform with an area of emphasis on the principalship. Her international work has centered on building university collaboratives to prepare leaders in the Bahamas. She has authored more than fifty articles on school leadership and published several books for researchers and practitioners. Tooms serves on several editorial boards and is an associate editor of The Journal of School Leadership.

C O N T A C T :

Amy Blakely (865-974-5034, ablakely@utk.edu)