Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — University of Tennessee, Knoxville Provost Susan Martin has appointed a search committee to help find a new dean for the College of Arts and Sciences.

Chaired by Bob Rider, dean of the College of Education, Health and Human Sciences, the committee includes eight tenured faculty members: Jeff Becker, head of the Department of Microbiology; Dorothy Habel, director of the School of Art; Heather Hirschfeld, associate professor of English; Asafa Jalata, sociology professor and interim director of Africana Studies program; Vejas Liulevicius, history professor; Cal McLean, head of the Department of Theater; Hap McSween, Distinguished Professor of earth and planetary sciences and incoming interim dean; and Deborah Welsh, psychology professor. Other members include David Brule, assistant professor of political science, a tenure-track faculty member; Kimberly Smith, mathematics lecturer; College Scholars student Anne Buckle, who is president of the Dean’s Student Advisory Council; and an external faculty member, Toby Boulet, associate professor of engineering and former Faculty Senate president.

Earlier this fall, Bruce Bursten announced that he will return to the faculty at the end of the year after serving as dean for more than five years.

For more information on the search process, contact the Office of the Provost at (865) 974-2445.