Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — The Center for International Education (CIE) at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, has awarded scholarships to 106 students who will be studying abroad during spring break and during the spring semester.

Six students have received $500 to study abroad during spring break; another 100 have received $1,000 scholarships to study abroad during the spring semester. All of these CIE scholarships are funded by the $10-per-year fee that undergraduates pay. Proposed by the Student Government Association and approved by the Board of Trustees, the fee went into effect in the fall of 2008.

Recipients were chosen because of financial need and academic merit.

Following are the students who received the scholarships, grouped by hometown:


  • Gallatin: Ashley Dobbs.
  • Knoxville: Oksana Fields, Taylor Jetton, Alannah Lively and Lore Poteet.
  • Morristown: Amy Renner.


  • Alcoa: Christopher Miles and Sarah Myers.
  • Antioch: Robyn Steffen.
  • Ashland City: Sarah Harris.
  • Athens: Alyssa Carroll.
  • Bartlett: Amanda Carter.
  • Belfast: Alexander Saites.
  • Bells: Katie Darnall.
  • Brentwood: Emily Barnett, Bradley Bernard, Astrid Emkes and Caroline Howell.
  • Chattanooga: Corey Rorex.
  • Cleveland: Hannah Long.
  • Collierville: Kaitlin Beagle and Caitlin San Roman.
  • Columbia: Lauren Kinnard.
  • Cordova: John Patrick.
  • Corryton: Amanda Selvidge.
  • Crossville: Michelle Wieczynski.
  • Dyersburg: Kristen Kerr.
  • Fairview: Jillian Cherry.
  • Franklin: Hannah Alexander, William Cannon and Sabrina Testut.
  • Gallatin: Nicholas Love and Jonathan Sessions.
  • Georgetown: Aaron Crawford
  • Germantown: Katherine Abercrombie, Christina Boyer, David Boyer and Megan Nixon.
  • Greeneville: Erica Cooter, Jerrica Goodson and Kelsey Solomon.
  • Harrison: Jeffrey Atherton.
  • Johnson City: Brian Conlon and Molly Martin.
  • Jonesborough: Catherine Holzapfel-Tseng.
  • Kingsport: James Begley and Jessica Welch.
  • Knoxville: Claire Binhammer, Amanda Bivens, William Coulter, Amien Essif, Michael Ferrell, Emily Gettelfinger, Sarah Goldman, Michele Keegan, Rebecca Keyes, Jessica King, Thien Mai, Michael Meade, Grayson Miller, Matthew Palmer, Jacob Peek, Sarah Priestley, Matthew Robinson, Bert Ruyten, Amanda Shell, Corey Smith, Jaimie Vancil, Samantha Voorhees, Jia Ying Wang, Meredith Whitfield, Mary Willis, Roston Willis and Fionnie Wong.
  • Martin: Robert Davis.
  • Memphis: Miriam Dike, Anna Howell, Brittany Julius, Hannah Schrader, Hajie Sesay and Audrey Webster.
  • Mount Juliet: Jillian Conover.
  • Murfreesboro: Tucker Netherton, Clare Robbins and Jessica Wilson.
  • Nashville: Kathleen Diehl, Margaret McCluney, Alicia Smith and Amanda Wulforst.
  • Nolensville: Brian Grant and Brianna Milam.
  • Norris: Elizabeth Williams.
  • Oak Ridge: Rebecca Colburn.
  • Ooltewah: Olivia Jenson and Myles Smith.
  • Rockwood: Daniel Butler.
  • Selmer: Justin West.
  • Sevierville: Luke Waring.
  • Seymour: Ethan Fulwood and Benjamin Ogle.
  • Signal Mountain: Jasmine Au.
  • Spring Hill: Brent Castro.
  • Clarkesville, Ga.: Lauren Bellamy.
  • Lake Bluff, Ill.: Jody Cochran.
  • Alburtis, Pa.: Loganne Eckhoff.
  • Roanoke, Va.: Melissa Meinhart.

C O N T A C T :

Amy Blakely (865-974-5034,