Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — Kerry Roehr, senior technologist II for the University of Tennessee’s College of Business Administration, has been honored as the Tennessee Communication Association’s 2010 Communicator of the Year.

Roehr received this prestigious honor for his contributions in making emerging communication technologies more accessible and understandable to users in the College of Business Administration’s new James A. Haslam II Business Building.

Tom Ladd, associate dean of technology for the College of Business Administration, nominated Roehr for this prestigious award for his ability to translate the college’s multi-million dollar investment in technology into an accessible resource for its users.

“As we neared completion of our new business building, we realized we had created such a technologically superior learning space that we needed someone to make the technology accessible to faculty, students, staff and guests alike,” said Ladd. “Luckily we found Kerry Roehr. Praised for his expertise, timeliness, efficiency and for the pleasant manner he consistently exhibits, Kerry has distinguished himself in the shadows of our faculty and students.”

“The almost immediate increase in learning we witnessed, along with the commendations we receive from so many individuals, consistently speak to how tirelessly and professionally Kerry has worked on behalf of the college,” Ladd said.

Roehr also has developed and managed communication technology systems for WANG, Philips Digital Video, ASE Technologies and the Knoxville Convention Center.

“I have known the recipient of this year’s award for over 30 years, having met him when he was an exemplary communication and fine arts student at the University of Memphis. Since then, his A/V career has ranged from sound engineering for the likes of Arlo Guthrie, Graham Nash and various 80s rock bands,” said Richard Ranta, dean of the College of Communication and Fine Arts at the University of Memphis.

Roehr is the second individual to receive this honor from the UT Knoxville campus since the award’s inception in 1973. Mike Stahl, program director of the college’s Physician Executive MBA program, received the honor in 2007. Other honorees have included Tennessee Govs. Ned McWherter, Don Sundquist and Lamar Alexander; Vice President Al Gore; and UT President Andy Holt. Holt was the inaugural recipient.

The Communicator of the Year award traditionally has been given to a person who, by virtue of service or performance, has contributed substantially to the purposes of communication in Tennessee.

C O N T A C T :

Cindy Raines (865-974-4359,