Skip to main content

Tom Cervone, program/managing director of the Department of Theatre and Clarence Brown Theatre, was recently elected chair of the Exempt Staff Council (ESC). Shane Colter, associate chief information officer for UT Knoxville administration and academics in OIT, will serve as chair elect.

Cervone and Colter began their one-year terms on July 1.

The ESC, counterpart to the Faculty Senate and Employee Relations Councils, is a body elected by peers to represent nearly 1,200 exempt (administrative and professional) Knoxville-area UT staff. The mission of the ESC is to provide a forum for discussing issues and exchanging ideas relevant to exempt staff and to provide a mechanism for communicating with other representative bodies and administrators.

Margie Russell, director of engineering advising, is the current outgoing ESC chair and will serve as an ex-officio member for the coming year.

ESC representatives meet on the 4th Tuesday of each month. For more information visit