Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — The University of Tennessee Presidential Search Committee held its first meeting today and named the members of its Search Advisory Council.

The Presidential Search Committee was appointed today during the UT Board of Trustees annual meeting. The committee, to be chaired by Board of Trustees Vice Chair James Murphy III, will be assisted by the search firm Witt/Keiffer.

Members of the Presidential Search Committee include:

  • Monice M. Hagler, UT trustee
  • James E. Hall, UT trustee
  • Andrea J. Loughry, UT trustee
  • Matthew N. Murray, professor of economics and associate director of the Center for Business and Economic Research, UT Knoxville
  • Jan F. Simek, interim president of the UT System
  • Robert S. Talbott, UT trustee
  • Sumeet S. Vaikunth, UT student trustee
  • Jenna S. Wright, assistant professor of English and Faculty Senate president, UT Martin

The search committee will be assisted by a Search Advisory Council, which will be chaired by UT Trustee Spruell Driver Jr.

Members of the Search Advisory Council include:

  • Brad Barnhill, graduate student and incoming Student Government Association executive council president, UT Health Science Center
  • Sam Dagogo-Jack, division chief and professor in the College of Medicine-Endocrinology, UT Health Science Center
  • Andrew Clark, student and Student Government Association president, UT Chattanooga
  • Verbie Prevost, professor and English department head, UT Chattanooga
  • Kelly Griffin, administrative assistant in the College of Arts and Sciences, UT Chattanooga
  • Tommy Jervis, student and president-elect of the Student Government Association, UT Knoxville
  • Joan Heminway, law professor and Faculty Senate president, UT Knoxville
  • Jane Davis, administrative specialist, Institute for Public Service
  • Vern Granger, assistant dean and director of undergraduate admissions, UT Knoxville
  • Ron Maples, controller, treasurer’s office, UT System
  • Constance Bonds, student and president of the Black Student Association, UT Martin
  • John Schommer, professor of mathematics and statistics, UT Martin
  • Claudia Kirk, department head of Small Animal Clinical Sciences and professor of medicine and nutrition, UT Institute of Agriculture
  • Ford Little, Knoxville attorney and past president, UT Alumni Association
  • Mike Moss, retired school administrator from Memphis and president-elect, UT Alumni Association
  • Tom Griscom, editor and publisher of the Chattanooga Times-Free Press and UT Development Council member
  • Mary Ergen, veterinarian and graduate of UT College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Bob Kaplan, Memphis dermatologist and vice chair of the UT Development Council
  • Thom Mason, director, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

The search committee also reviewed a draft advertisement for the position.

UT trustees approved a recommended compensation package for the next president. It includes a base salary in the range of $420,000 to $450,000, a housing allowance of $20,000, and an expense allowance in the range of $12,000 to $16,000.

The trustees also set a budget of $212,375 for the presidential search with the goal of electing a new president at the October 2010 board meeting.

The search committee and advisory council will meet jointly at 12:45 p.m. EDT on Monday, June 28, in the Executive Dining Room at the University Center on the UT Knoxville campus. The agenda includes a briefing on the presidential search timeline and process, as well as a review of the draft advertisement for the position. For more information about the presidential search and a link to the webcast of this meeting, go to


Gina Stafford, (865) 974-0741,

Ellie Amador, (865) 974-1177,