Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — Forty-four students have received scholarships from Center for International Education (CIE) at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, that will help them study abroad this summer and during the 2010-11 academic year.

Eight of the recipients have won W.K. McClure Scholarships for the Study of World Affairs. These students receive up to $5,000 to support their study, research and creative projects abroad aimed at enhancing and promoting education for world responsibility. McClure Scholarships fund these international projects and cannot be used on pre-arranged study-abroad programs; rather, the money is used by students to create their own study-abroad experiences.

Most McClure recipients are graduate students who are going abroad to work on their theses, doctoral research and other projects.

The W.K. McClure Fund for the Study of World Affairs was established in 1968 by Wallace McClure, a UT graduate. The trustees of the William Kyle McClure Foundation have an annual competition at the beginning of each year for projects to be carried out during the summer, fall and following spring.

This year’s McClure Scholarship winners are:

  • Anne Buckle of Fayetteville, Ga.
  • Marianna Jablonski of Roan Mountain, Tenn.
  • Suzanne Johnson of Knoxville
  • Michael McConnell of Birmingham, Ala.
  • Abdoul Aziz Oubeidillah of Moroni, Comoros
  • Neil Parris of Knoxville
  • John Thomason of Lenoir City, Tenn.
  • Hongtai Yang of Knoxville

The other 36 students received $1,000 scholarships and will be studying abroad during this fall. These CIE scholarships are funded by the $10-per-year fee that undergraduates pay. Proposed by the Student Government Association and approved by the Board of Trustees, the fee went into effect in fall of 2008.

CIE scholarships were awarded to students for their chosen study abroad programs based on a combination of financial need and academic merit.

Following is a list of students who received the scholarships, grouped by hometown:

BRENTWOOD: Eric Nalley, Hadil Senno


CARTHAGE: Samuel Smith


CLARKSVILLE: Francesca Freed

CORDOVA: Alice McLannen, Emily Perkins

CROSSVILLE: Evan Sanders


HARRISON: Jeffery Atherton


JOHNSON CITY: Emma MacMillan

JONESBOROUGH: Thomas Herington

KINGSPORT: Amanda Godsey

KNOXVILLE: Rochelle Breen, Valen Emmert, Timothy Michaels, Jennifer Rushing, Anna Simanis

MARYVILLE: Jarett Beaudoin, Emily Hunt, Matthew Ramsey

MEMPHIS: Jaclyn Barnhard, Jordan Cowan, Emily Gattuso

MOUNT JULIET: Brittany Shumacher

MURFREESBORO: Mechelle Kneidinger, Mallory Wallin

NASHVILLE: Jennifer Harrow, James Humble

OAK RIDGE: Shannon Karney, Austin Owen, Agnieszka Rykaczewska

SPRING HILL: Stephanie Hannah

UNICOI: Sophia Linville

C O N T A C T :

Amy Blakely (865-974-5034,