Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE – Nine alumni and graduate students from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, are recipients of the 2010 National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship. The NSF awards are given to students based on their potential as young scientists and for intellectual merit and broader impact. The fellowships are used to further their research.

The 2010 NSF recipients are:

• Jose Alfaro, a UT Knoxville graduate in engineering, is a graduate student at Clemson University.

• Bryon Aragam, who studied mathematical sciences at UT Knoxville, is a graduate student in applications of mathematics at the University of California – Los Angeles.

• Emily Austin is a graduate student in ecology and evolutionary biology at UT Knoxville.

• Michelle Russell is a graduate student in psychology at UT Knoxville.

• Daniel Sale, UT Knoxville graduate in mechanical engineering, will be a graduate student at the University of Washington next year.

• Todd Schoborg is a graduate student in biochemistry and cellular and molecular biology at UT Knoxville.

• Michael Vaughn, a UT Knoxville graduate in biochemistry and molecular and cellular engineering, is now a graduate student in chemistry and biochemistry at Arizona State University.

The NSF’s fellowship program aims to help ensure the vitality of the human resource base of science and engineering in the U.S. The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees.

NSF fellows are anticipated to become knowledge experts who can contribute significantly to research, teaching and innovations in science and engineering. These individuals are crucial to maintaining and advancing the nation’s technological infrastructure and national security as well as contributing to the economic well-being of society at large.

Past fellows include numerous Nobel Prize winners, U.S. Secretary of Energy Steven Chu, Google founder Sergey Brin and “Freakonomics” co-author Steven Levitt.

C O N T A C T:

Whitney Holmes (865-974-5460,