Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — Twenty-two county and municipal government leaders have successfully completed the 16th annual Local Government Leadership Program (LGLP) at the University of Tennessee Institute for Public Service (IPS).

Graduates of LGLP 2008
Graduates of LGLP 2008
UT faculty and private consultants led the three-day, invitation-only program that focused on personal leadership, etiquette, ethics, public education and state budget practices in Tennessee. The program concluded Nov. 14.

“LGLP gives elected and appointed government officials the opportunity to examine the best practices in leadership and to learn from their colleagues and counterparts across the state,” said Tom Kohntopp, manager of leadership and executive development programs at IPS. “By coming together, we find that common issues face officials in East, Middle and West Tennessee. LGLP participants share ideas, and their conversations and advice can lead to new solutions for their communities.”

For more than four decades, IPS has offered leadership programs that promote effective government through creative leadership, managerial effectiveness, professional skills enhancement and lifelong development for leaders and their organizations. With custom-designed programs for both local and state leaders, IPS helps Tennessee’s government professionals meet the challenges of public service.

LGLP participants are nominated by their peers, LGLP alumni or IPS staff. This year, five IPS personnel were invited to participate because of their daily involvement with representatives of municipal and county governments and industries.

“The university is committed to reaching across the state to help elected and appointed officials better serve citizens. Our consultants need to be well-informed of current trends affecting our state in order to provide that outreach,” Kohntopp said.

Since its inception in 1991, more than 400 people have completed the Local Government Leadership Program.

For more about the LGLP program, see

Completing LGLP 2008 were:

– Lieven Cox, alderman, Harrogate
– David Davenport, sheriff, Jefferson County
– Linda Fultz, alderman, Harrogate
– Tabetha Glenn, payroll specialist, Franklin County
– Kristy Godsey-Brown, legal consultant, UT County Technical Assistance Service
– John P. Graham, superintendent of highways, Marion County
– Connie E. Green, register of deeds, Sequatchie County
– Charles Jenkins, vice mayor, Pulaski
– Greg Johnson, mayor, Pikeville
– Michael Lester, alderman, City of Harrogate
– Harry McKee, vice mayor, Arlington
– Margaret Norris, municipal management consultant, UT Municipal Technical Advisory Service
– Betty J. Partin, accounts payable specialist, Franklin County
– Melanie Purcell, assistant executive director, UT Municipal Technical Advisory Service
– Thomas M. Rosseel, alderman, Farragut
– Charles E. Shoopman Jr., assistant vice president, UT IPS
– Col. Patrick W. Shull, alderman, Kingsport
– Annette Sisk, human resources director, Franklin County
– Marty Spears, finance and budget consultant, UT County Technical Assistance Service
– James Talley, mayor, Ducktown
– Brian Thompson, alderman, Arlington
– Mary Ann Tremblay, alderman, Three Way

Front row, left to right: Thomas Rosseel, Betty Partin, Margaret Norris, Kristy Godsey-Brown, Mary Ann Tremblay, Greg Johnson; second row, left to right: James Talley, Annette Sisk, Tabetha Glenn, Harry McKee, Col. Patrick Shull, Melanie Purcell, Connie Green; third row, left to right: David Davenport, Marty Spears, John Graham, Chuck Shoopman, Michael Lester, Lieven Cox, Brian Thompson, Charles Jenkins.


Queena Jones, (865) 974-1533,