Skip to main content

UT Distinguished Professor of Humanities Dr. Palmira Brummett has been appointed as an additional member of the search committee to fill the chancellor position for the University of Tennessee’s Knoxville campus, UT President John Petersen announced Thursday.

The addition of Brummett, a professor of history at the Knoxville campus, brings committee membership to 21.

Committee members:
Harry (Hap) McSween, Distinguished Professor, Planetary Sciences / Committee Chair
Joan Heminway, Associate Professor, Law
Terrell Strayhorn, UT Knoxville Special Assistant to the Provost and Assistant Professor, Education
Daniel Murphy, Professor, Accounting
Gary Sayler, Distinguished Professor, Microbiology
Barbara Dewey, Dean and Professor, Library
Jan Williams, Dean and Professor, Business
Joe DiPietro, Vice President, Institute of Agriculture
Denise Barlow, UT Knoxville Vice Chancellor, Finance and Administration
Rita Geier, UT Knoxville Associate to the Chancellor
Susan Martin, UT Knoxville Senior Vice Provost and Professor, Classics
Palmira Brummett, Professor of History and Distinguished Professor of Humanities
August Washington, Chief, UT Police
John Rader, UT Knoxville Student Government Association President
Anna York, Student Trustee, Knoxville
Larry Martin, Deputy to the Mayor, City of Knoxville
Dee Haslam, Chair, UT Development Council
Debbie Diddle, Past President, UT National Alumni Association
Thom Mason, Director, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
John Currie, Senior Associate UT Athletics Director
Doug Horne, Trustee, Knoxville

Gina Stafford, 865-974-0741,
Karen Collins, 865-974-5186,