Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

Commission for WomenThe Commission for Women is seeking nominations for the Angie Warren Perkins Award and the Women of Achievement awards, to be presented at the Spring 2008 Chancellor’s Honors Banquet.

The Angie Warren Perkins award, named for the first Dean of Women at UT, will honor a woman faculty member who is still on a probationary tenure track and who shows outstanding promise of scholarship, teaching, and/or other contributions to campus intellectual life. The candidate must have a minimum of one year’s continuous service. No recipient of the award within the past five years is eligible.

The Women of Achievement awards will honor women who have, through extraordinary accomplishments in either a traditional or non-traditional area, significantly improved the status of women within the university community. Categories include staff (exempt and non-exempt), faculty, and students (graduate and undergraduate). Traditional areas include disciplines or tasks in which women have historically found employment such as teaching English composition or managing a day-care center. Non-traditional areas include fields in which women are still pioneers, such as nuclear engineering or aerospace studies.

The nomination deadline is February 15, 2008. Forms for both awards are available on the Commission for Women website, http://cfw.utk.edu. For more info e-mail ngoslee@utk.edu.