Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE –- A group of area government officials completed a leadership program at the University of Tennessee’s Institute for Public Service (IPS) on Nov. 17.

During the 15th annual Local Government Leadership Program (LGLP), UT faculty and other non-governmental consultants addressed issues of concern with the participants. Topics included personal leadership, communication, economic development and current trends in local government.

“LGLP gives elected and appointed government officials the opportunity to discuss innovative ways to solve difficult problems and learn about leadership concepts,” said Mary Taylor, assistant vice president of IPS.

Program participants are nominated by their peers, LGLP alumni or IPS staff. Each class includes leaders from cities and counties of all sizes. Since its inception in 1991, nearly 400 people have completed the program.

IPS provides continuing research and technical assistance to government, industry and law enforcement. The institute promotes effective government by providing educational programs that foster creative leadership, managerial effectiveness and lifelong development for individuals and their organizations.

Area government officials who attended were Rose Kiser, recorder, Harrogate; Estelle Herron, trustee, Loudon County; Teresa Best, director of human resources, Maryville; Lisa Cavender, circuit court clerk, Robertson County; Beverly Burger, alderman, Franklin; Shannon Alvey, council member, Athens; Douglas Collins, vice mayor/commissioner, Ducktown; Dwight Bennett, alderman, Unicoi; William “Howie” Rose Jr., director of emergency management, Roane County; Doug Hopson, vice mayor, Unicoi; Carl Stoppenhagen, highway superintendent, Gibson County; James Webb, police chief, Loudon; Jim Smith, public works superintendent, Fayette County; Ken Wilbur, mayor, Portand; Mike Brubaker, fire chief, Loudon; and Evonne Hoback, county clerk, McMinn County.

Amy Blakely, (865) 974-5034,
Kasey Draney, (865) 974-0488