Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — Professor and Associate Dean John Sobieski Jr. has been named interim dean of UT’s College of Law.

John Sobieski Jr.
John Sobieski Jr.
Sobieski will take over for Dean Thomas C. Galligan Jr. who is leaving Aug. 1 to become president of Colby-Sawyer College in New Hampshire. Galligan had been UT’s law dean since 1998.

Sobieski has been at UT for 34 years and has been the law college’s associate dean for academic affairs since 1995. His honors include being named Lindsay Young Distinguished Professor of Law at UT in 1986, having twice won the Harold C. Warner Outstanding Teacher Award and having received the Tennessee Bar Association’s Outstanding Law Professor Award. He is co-author of the seven-volume Civil Rights Actions and helped to draft the Tennessee Rules of Appellate Procedure.

“I could not imagine a better person for the position than John Sobieski,” Galligan said. “He is a dedicated teacher, an accomplished scholar, and a loyal servant of the College and University. He will do great things.”

In announcing the appointment, Chancellor Loren Crabtree said, “We appreciate John Sobieski’s willingness to step up and see the college through this transition period. We also wish Tom Galligan best of luck in his new position in New Hampshire.”

The search for a new dean for the College of Law will begin next year.


Amy Blakely, (865) 974-5034,
R.G. Smithson, (865) 974-0687,