Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — Seven educators who have significantly impacted the lives of their students were honored at a University of Tennessee ceremony Tuesday, May 16.

UT’s College of Education, Health and Human Sciences established the Educators Hall of Honor in 2002 as a method of recognizing deserving teachers and supplementing the education of future students.

Individuals nominate educators who have played a major role in their education as well as make a donation to the school’s scholarship endowment in that teacher’s name. Since 2002, 32 educators have been inducted into the Hall of Honor, including UT President Emeritus Joseph E. Johnson and former UT president, the late Andy Holt.

This year’s honorees are:
–Billie Linginfelter Cannon, teacher, Knox County Schools –W. Elmer Raper, professor, coach and administrator, Middle Tennessee State University
–Ruth Stephens, professor, UT College of Liberal Arts
–Sammye J. Wynn, Knox County Schools teacher and UT professor
–Ted Hipple, UT College of Education, Health and Human Sciences professor
–Marla Peterson, UT College of Education, Health and Human Sciences professor
–Charles Thompson, UT College of Education Health and Human Sciences professor

Plaques in the Educators Hall of Honor, located in the Claxton Complex in UT’s College of Education, are engraved with the names of teachers and other educators who have had a profound impact on the lives of students and their professional colleagues, said Donna Bletner, director of development for the college.

“The Hall of Honor is also a way for individuals to support the college’s scholarship endowment,” said Bletner. “A contribution of at least $1,000 ensures that not only will a deserving educator be recognized, but also that future students will be able to carry on that legacy of excellence in education.”

For more information about the Educator’s Hall of Honor, contact Donna Bletner at 865-974-3994 or visit

Beth Gladden (865-974-9008 or 865-771-1284)