Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — Recipients of the Frederick T. Bonham Scholarship Endowment were recognized at a dinner ceremony at McClung Museum on the University of Tennessee campus Monday, April 24. The dinner honored members of the Bonham family and the recipients of the students who received the four-year Bonham scholarship.

The scholarship is named for the late Frederick T. Bonham, who entered UT’s Law School in 1909 and eventually became business manager and associate publisher of the then Knoxville Journal-Tribune. In 1928, Bonham became the personnel director for the New York Times.

The Bonham Scholarship has three award categories that support undergraduate and graduate students. Four-year awards of $5,000 each go to approximately 19 students each year. Scholarships totaling $12,000 are awarded to students in the College of Law and one-year awards of $1,000 each are awarded to several undergraduate students annually. Since its inception in 1978, the Bonham scholarships have provided financial aid to more than 2,400 UT students.

Bonham also donated many pieces of his art collection to the McClung Museum. Among those is one of only two original castings of Harriet Whitney Frishmuth’s sculpture “The Vine,” which is displayed in the main lobby of the museum. The second casting of the sculpture is displayed in the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, but belongs to McClung.

“Mr. Bonham was a wonderful friend to our university, and his vision and commitment to assist UT students with this endowment has been an important aspect in their collegiate careers,” said UT Knoxville Chancellor Loren Crabtree.

The ceremony included remarks from Crabtree; Jack Williams, UT senior advisor to the president for philanthropy; Hannah Helton, a junior from Gatlinburg majoring in interior design and the Bonham Scholars’ representative; Mr. Bonham’s niece, Ruth Sutton of Knoxville; and great-nephew Bob Sutton of Knoxville. Other Bonham family members in attendance were Joy Sutton of Knoxville and Carla and Jay Livingston of Knoxville.

The 2006 UT Bonham Scholars:

–Lee Brogan, chemistry, Fairview, Tenn.
–William Dean, civil engineering, Chattanooga, Tenn.
–James Glover, geology, Elizabethton, Tenn.
–Hannah Helton, interior design, Gatlinburg, Tenn.
–Heather Hogue, biological sciences, Cordova, Tenn.
–Michael Kee, biomedical engineering, Camden, Tenn.
–Robby Lockett, political science, Harriman, Tenn.
–Emily Parsons, undecided, Greeneville, Tenn.
–Ashley Pedigo, food and science technology, Westmoreland, Tenn.
–Betsy Rhea, human resource development, Sevierville, Tenn.
–Michelle Sarwar, biomedical engineering, Clarksville, Tenn.
–Kevin Shell, marketing, Knoxville, Tenn.
–Michael Spain, biomedical engineering, Kingsport, Tenn.
–Lauren Sutterfield, college scholars program, Murfreesboro, Tenn.
–Thomas Walker, language interest, Maryville, Tenn.
–Matt White, business, Erwin, Tenn.
–Annie Whitworth, journalism and electronic media, Bartlett, Tenn.
Adam Wright, pre-professional interest, Baton Rouge, La.
Lisa Zachary, industrial engineering, Knoxville, Tenn.

Contact: Eric Haag, Stewardship and Donor Recognition, (865-974-2115)

Beth Gladden, media relations, (865-974-9008,