Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — The University of Tennessee recently honored Johnny Grubb, principal of McMinn County High School, with the Field Award for Excellence in Secondary School Leadership. The award is only available to secondary school principals and is one of the College of Education, Health and Human Sciences- most prestigious honors.

The Field Award was established in 2000 through an endowment honoring former Tennessee educators, the late Mr. and Mrs. William J. Field. CEHHS faculty give the award each year to a principal whose life and work exemplify leadership excellence.

Diane Glass Hutton of Knoxville, granddaughter of William and Lucille Field, spoke at the November 2 award ceremony. She discussed her grandparents- careers and the principles they valued, such as social justice, responsibility and service, which are the basis for the award.

Dr. Lynn Cagle, associate dean of the CEHHS, presented the award and noted Grubb-s achievements.

-Mr. Grubb is an outstanding recipient of the Field Award. In reviewing the criteria for the award, such as candor, courage and leadership, his career reflects those virtues and many more. He does a wonderful job in what is perhaps the most difficult position in public education today–that of a secondary school principal. I am pleased our college could recognize his outstanding contributions,- said Cagle.

Grubb said he was overwhelmed when he found out about the statewide award.

-I have been in education for more than 40 years and I have always been surrounded by excellent educators. In my opinion, this award is a special tribute to all of them too,- Grubb said.

Grubb shared some of his insights with UT students enrolled in the college-s Education Administration Program. He advised the master-s and doctoral level students to be visible in the hallways, in the lunchroom and at school events when they become administrators. Grubb also discussed the importance of encouraging students and staff as well as communicating with parents.

Nominations for the 2006 Field Award will be accepted through the end of this year. For more information, contact award coordinator Dr. Vincent Anfara Jr. at (865) 974-6228 or
Contact: Vincent Anfara (865) 974-6228
Beth Gladden (865) 974-90