Skip to main content

Three University of Tennessee students have been named Goldwater Scholars and will receive scholarships for the 2005-2006 school year.

The are:

Troy Alexander Perkins, junior in College Scholars with an emphasis in computational ecology from Johnson City, Tenn.

Emily Reagan Pritchard, junior in biomedical engineering from Maryville, Tenn. and

Britni Jantha Ratliff, junior in chemistry from Hendersonville, Tenn.

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation awarded 320 scholarships to undergraduate sophomores and juniors across the United States.

Goldwater Scholars are selected based on academic merit. This year 1,091 mathematics, science and engineering students were nominated by the faculties of colleges nationwide.

The one- and two-year scholarships cover tuition, fees, books, and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year.

The scholarship program honors Senator Barry M. Goldwater and was designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in mathematics, natural sciences and engineering.

In its 17-year history, the foundation has awarded 4,562 scholarships worth more than $45 million.