Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — Three University of Tennessee professors have been awarded UT National Alumni Distinguished Service Professorships.

They are Dr. Lawrence Taylor, Dr. Peter Liaw and Dr. Thomas Davies.

Taylor, professor of earth and planetary sciences in the College of Arts and Sciences, is internationally known for his study of lunar and planetary substances and diamond-bearing samples from the Earth’s interior.

Taylor has received several awards for his work and has published more than 350 papers in major international science journals.

Liaw, professor of engineering, joined the UT Department of Materials Science and Engineering as Ivan Racheff Chair of Excellence in 1993. His research interests are in the causes and prevention of engineering failures due to structural fatigue.

During his time at UT, Liaw has authored or co-authored more than 180 research proposals, 184 papers in refereed journals, 179 papers in conference proceedings, and 375 presentations at national or international conferences. He has given more than 40 invited lectures.

Davies has been a professor in the College of Law since 1986. He was named Elmer L. Stewart Faculty Scholar for 2000-2001 and 2002-2003.

Davies teaches constitutional law, criminal law, criminal procedure, civil rights actions and constitutional history. His research expertise is in the investigatory phase of criminal procedure, and his studies have been discussed in the U.S. Supreme Court, federal courts and state supreme courts.

UT-Knoxville Chancellor Loren Crabtree said the alumni professorships are among the most prestigious campus awards.

“The alumni awards were among our first professorships,” Crabtree said. “Because of its history and the outstanding scholars who have held one, the Alumni Distinguished Professorship is highly regarded by our faculty.”

Gifts to the UT National Alumni Association provide funding for 12 professorships. Recipients are chosen for outstanding contributions to the university, and they hold the title and receive the salary supplements as long as they remain active faculty members.

Gifts to the National Alumni Association fund the Alumni Distinguished Service Professors’ annual salary supplements.