Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — Eleven University of Tennessee students have been named 2003-2004 recipients of an African-American Academic Achiever Award sponsored by the Coca-Cola Co. and the Knoxville Coca-Cola Bottling Co.

The award winners, 10 from Tennessee and one from Kentucky, are:

Lorrie Brooks, a sophomore in communication from Antioch.

Robyn Chaplin, a freshman in chemical engineering from Hermitage.

Gabrielle Grundy, a senior in psychology from Springfield.

Nikol Hall, a junior in biological sciences from Nashville.

Jessica Henry, an undeclared freshman from Clarksville.

Chidinma Iwueke, a junior in nuclear engineering from Antioch.

April Knight, a junior in Psychology from Huntingdon.

Jhasta Moore, a senior in speech communication from Knoxville, Tennessee.

Erin Raines, a sophomore in business from Danville, Ky.

Joshua Simmons, a sophomore in management interest from Smyrna.

Ashley Ssebikindu, a freshman in computer engineering from Cordova.

Each student will receive full tuition plus a book stipend for the 2003-2004 school year. The scholarship is renewable.

The students were honored Nov. 1 at UT-s Homecoming Pre-game Showcase.

The Coca-Cola Minority Scholarship assists UT-s African-American scholarship effort and has helped leverage additional funding from the state of Tennessee.
The scholarship is one part of a joint $500,000 gift from the Coca-Cola Co. and the Knoxville Coca-Cola Bottling Co.