Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

The University of Tennessee Presidential Search Committee and the UT Presidential Search Advisory Council will hold a series of open forums at all the UT campuses to discuss the search with faculty and staff.

Forum dates, times and locations are:

4-6 p.m. Monday, Nov. 10, Knoxville, University Center Auditorium;
4-6 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 11, Chattanooga, Benwood Room/Auditorium, Engineering, Math, and Computer Science Building;
9-11 a.m. Wednesday, Nov. 12, Nashville, War Memorial Auditorium;
2:30-4:30 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 12, Tullahoma, UTSI Auditorium;
3-5 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 19, Memphis, A203 Auditorium, General Education Building;
11 a.m.-1 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 20, Martin, Watkins Auditorium.

All Open Forums will be Web cast and can be viewed at http://oit.utk.edu/dst/webevents.html.

Andrea Loughry, who chairs the trustees’ Presidential Search committee, said the events are part of the search committee and council commitment to an inclusive, open process.

Search Committee members are: Loughry, who is from Murfreesboro; Jerry Jackson, Dyersburg; Rhynette Hurd, Memphis; Don Stansberry, Huntsville; Bill Stokely, Knoxville; Carol White, student trustee at Knoxville; Dr. Gary Sayler, faculty member at Knoxville; and Dr. Stephanie Bellar, faculty member at Chattanooga.

Dr. Margaret Perry, chancellor emeritus of UT-Martin, is executive director of the search.

The 18-member UT Presidential Search Advisory Council has committees on Criteria, Advertising and Recruitment; Communications; and Due Diligence and Interview Planning.

Students on the advisory council are: Daniel Klyce, senior psychology major at Knoxville; Lacy Long, Health Science Center; Tiffany Trice, UT-Martin; and James Armour, UT-Chattanooga.

Representing alumni are: Jim Duke, president of the UT National Alumni Association; Spruell Driver, NAA president-elect; Debby Diddle; and Roger Dickson.

Charmagyne Akram, UT Health Science Center, is the non-exempt staff representative. The exempt staff member is Rebecca Peterson, Center for Industrial Services.

Faculty members are: Dr. Larry Hak, UT Health Science Center; Dr. Nancy Warren, UT Martin; Dr. Vic Bumphus, UT Chattanooga; and Dr. Peter Hoeyng, UT Knoxville.

Trustees serving on the council are Jim Murphy, Waymon Hickman, John Thornton and Susan Williams.

More information on the UT presidential search is available at the presidential search Web site at http://pr.tennessee.edu/presidentialsearch/.

For information on the campus locations of the forums, visit the University of Tennessee System Web site at http://www.tennessee.edu/system/.