Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE – Twenty area civic leaders in Knoxville have been appointed to UT-s University Associates.

The associates, founded in 1972, provide a link between the university and the Knoxville area by helping explain UT-s vision and goals to the community, President John Shumaker said.

Frank Rothermel is the 2002-2003 chairman of the 64-member association. He is president of Denark Construction Inc.

Frank Rothermel

New members include:

Terrence Carter, executive director for partnership for neighborhood improvement, Knoxville-s Empowerment Zone office;

Rosemary Gilliam, vice president and senior financial advisor, Merrill Lynch;

Chrisi Haretos, director of education initiatives, Venture 29/7;

Don Hasson, president, House-Hasson Hardware;

Kelly Headden, vice president, Barber & McMurry Architects;

Celeste Herbert, partner, Bernstein, Stair, & McAdams;

Jenny Hines, president/owner Hines & Co. PC;

Kirk Huddleston, director of corporate and community development, Blaine Construction Co.;

Ronald Lawrence, president, Lawrence Healthcare;

Jack McElroy, editor, Knoxville News Sentinel;

Kate O-Day, president & CEO, Child and Family Tennessee;

Ed Pasley, executive director, Dogwood Arts Festival;

Vernon Patterson, CEO, Partners Collaborative;

Dean Rice, senior legislative assistant for Congressman John Duncan;

Kelle Shultz, executive director, Knoxville Habitat for Humanity;

Reese Thomas, CEO, TIS Insurance Services Inc.;

Dotty Vinson, field supervisor, Apple Corps;

Martha S. Wallen, regional small business banking manager, BB&T;

Chris Woodhull, executive director, Tribe One.