Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — The brightest incoming class of students in the history of the University of Tennessee Honors Program began classes last week on the Knoxville campus.

“The entering class of Honors Students has the highest average test scores and high school grade point average in the history of UT’s Honors Program,” Dr. Thomas W. Broadhead, director of UT Honors Program, said. “Students were admitted to the Program based upon competitive applications, which emphasized their academic experience, challenges and successes, and involvement in their schools and hometown communities.

“It is a great group of highly motivated and talented students that is expected to make great use of the full scope of opportunities available at UT.”

Selection for the competitive scholarships is based on academic performance and on academic and professional promise, Broadhead said. Most recipients must have had at least a 3.5 high school GPA and 27 ACT or 1210 SAT scores, he said.

These students may select any major, take honors courses and seminars, and complete a senior project. They also receive priorities in course registration, computing, and library services, he said.

This fall’s incoming UT Honors Program enrollees are:

African American Achievement Scholars:
Kalilah Allen, Montgomery, AL
Megan Frederick, Columbia, SC
Richard Gash, Asheville, NC
Natalie Greene, Jonesboro, GA
Derek Sanders, Nashville
Joel Thomas, Conyers, GA
Kristopher Waggoner, Tullahoma
William Wells, Knoxville

Bicentennial Scholars:
Abdelhamid Alsharif, Knoxville
Thomas Anderson, Oneida
Caleb Bastian, Cross Plains
Sara Bliss, Centerville
Kirill Borziak, Knoxville
Matthew Bowman, Knoxville
Virginia Brooks, Brentwood
Christopher Browne, Brentwood
Erin Byers, Knoxville
Adam Chan, Knoxville
Aaron Chapman, Russellville
Linda Choate, Kingston
Daniel Chung, Knoxville
James Clark, Colorado Springs, Colo.
Kimberly Cochran, Knoxville
Alisha Coffey, New Tazewell
Conner Corwin, Lenoir City
William Dabbs, Knoxville
Jessica Dainty, Cookeville
Russell Dunlap, Hendersonville
Joshua Dyer, Gatlinburg
Sara Edmunds, Knoxville
Amanda Fanning, Germantown
Rachel Frey, Kingsport
Adam Fuller, Knoxville
Nastassia Gurganus, Clarksville
Christina Haines, Mt. Juliet
Jennifer Ham, Hendersonville
Sarah Hammond, Clinton
Eric Harkness, Franklin
Daniel Harris, Unicoi
Erik Herrmann Knoxville
Olivia Hill, Knoxville
Richard Hohenbrink, Oak Ridge
David Holmes , Morristown
Charles Hubbard, Hendersonville
Tina Gupta, Ooltewah
Heather Humphreys, Knoxville
Nathan Jansen, Knoxville
William Kittrell, Knoxville
Anna Klimas, Knoxville
Brittani Kridler, Newport
Laura Lacy, Knoxville
Cassandra Levy, Knoxville
Matthew Lopez, Ooltewah
Rahim Manji, Clinton
Sara Merkord, Maryville
Seth Metcalf, Memphis
Eric Moore, Knoxville
Jeffrey Morris, Franklin
Matthew Morris, Ooltewah
Goran Musinovic, Knoxville
Nathan Ottinger, Lenoir City
Patrick Paige, Murfreesboro
Wesley Phillips, Memphis
Marcelo Pomeranz, Knoxville
Leann Price, Knoxville
Britni Ratliff, Hendersonville
William Roberts, Tullahoma
Brandon Scarbro, Knoxville
Benjamin Scott, Collierville
John Shanks, Knoxville
Julia Stoll, Germantown
Jenna Stubbs, Cookeville
Johnathan Sturgis, Collierville
Meghan Stuthard, Franklin
Jennifer Szeto, Germantown
Jamie Thomas, Bartlett
Donald Sims, Knoxville
Matthew Vodraska, Sevierville
Kevin Walters, Memphis
Katherine Waring, Sevierville
Walter Whitworth, Bartlett
Lukas Woods, Brentwood
John Yates, Kingsport
Maggie Yeager, Brentwood
Jonathan York, Crossville
Michael Zimmerman, Decherd

Bonham Scholars:
Lee Brogan, Fairview
James Glover, Elizabethton
Lauren Sutterfield, Murfreesboro
Ashley Wyrick, Knoxville

Haslam Scholars:
Bryan Goldberg, Hollywood, FL
Lara Kuhnert, Blountville

Holt Scholars:
Lauren Binkley, Springfield
Elizabeth Chapman, Fayetteville
Kerri Crawford, Tazewell
Susan Folk, Tullahoma
Jason Walker, Hixson
Dana Pierre, Winchester
Rachel Raines, Collierville
Christopher Stewart, Gray

Manning Scholar:
Rachel Matthews, Knoxville

Neyland Scholars:
Katherine Frederick, Tullahoma
Brett Penley, Kingsport
John Smithfield, Clarksville
Megan Welch, Oneida

Oldham Scholars:
Lauren Houston, Knoxville
Lindsay Renfro, Knoxville

Presidential Scholars:
Tanner Jessel, Sevierville
Ana Landry, Gatlinburg
Joshua McGill, Sevierville
Lisa Qualman, Brentwood

Roddy Scholars:
Joseph Barbeauld, Hixson
Stacey Raden, Kingsport

Tennessee Scholars:
Rachael Bible, Oneida
Brandon Blevins, Mars Hill, NC
Chasmin Brooks, Alcoa
Christopher Call, Dickson
Clay Lee, Bell Buckle
Matthew Cotten, Sparta
Ashley Duhl, Nashville
Robert Ford, Knoxville
Kevin Hansom, Cordova
Lindsey Houchens, Columbia, SC
Kesler, Katherine, Athens
Jennifer Maynor, Riceville
Chelsi Oakley, Gatlinburg
Troy Perkins, Johnson City
Emily Reagan, Johnson City
Kashif Saleem, Cordova
Amanda Sanford, Lebanon
Skye Shelton, Chattanooga
Scott Sherrill, Crossville
Catherine Stewart, Nashville
Lee Thompson, Memphis
Bradford Vaughan, Crossville
Krystal Werfel, Waverly
Claire Wallace, Mt. Juliet
Sarah Woolard, Marietta, GA

Whittle Scholars:
Jessica Adams, Knoxville
Kathleen Benton, Knoxville
John Ford, Dyersburg
Amy Butner, Antioch
Haley Hubbard, Winchester
Patrick Hunter, Brentwood
Lesley Littrell, Waverly
Scott Thurman, Knoxville
Christopher Williams, Clarksville
Cynthia Yarbrough, Memphis

Transfers and Non-Scholarship UT Honors Enrollees:
Ashley Akin, Germantown
Andrew Clark, Stuart, Fla.
John Evans, Chattanooga
Harold Gonzales, Sumter, S.C.
Margaret Gordon, Madison, Miss.
Tara Reese, Houston, Texas
Kevin Rice, Tulsa, Okla.
Benjamin Siegrist, Lake Wylie, S.C.
Joshua Vanderwall, Speedway, Ind.
Lara Waters, Gatlinburg