Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

KNOXVILE — Dr. Harry Y. McSween, University of Tennessee professor of science, petrology and cosmochemistry, has been named a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

McSween is among 177 newly elected academy fellows. Other 2002 inductees include Sen. Edward M. Kennedy, former Sen. Warren Rudman, violinist Itzhak Perlman, Academy Award winner Anjelica Huston, four college presidents, three Nobel Prize winners, and six Pulitzer Prize winners.

McSween in January was named to NASA’s Dawn mission, which

Dr. Harry Y. McSween

launches in 2006 on a nine-year journey to orbit the two largest known asteroids in the solar system, Vesta and Ceres.

He was a science team member of NASA’s Mars Pathfinder, Mars Global Surveyor and Mars Odyssey missions. He also will be working on the Mars Exploration Rover mission in 2003.

An advisor to NASA and the National Research Council, McSween was president of the Meteoritical Society and chaired the Planetary Division of the Geological Society of America. He won the Leonard medal, the top award in planetary science, in 2001.

“We are pleased to welcome these outstanding and influential individuals to the nation-s most illustrious learned society,” Academy President Patricia Meyer Spacks said. “Election to the academy is the result of a highly competitive process that recognizes those who have made preeminent contributions to all scholarly fields and professions.”

McSween and other new inductees will be honored October 5 at the annual induction ceremony at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots founded the Academy in 1780 to advance and recognize the arts and sciences. A full list of new Members is available on the Academy website at http://www.amacad.org/members/new2002list.htm.