Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — Nineteen area civic leaders have accepted appointment to UT’s University Associates.

The associates, founded in 1972, provides a link between the university and the Knoxville area by helping explain UT’s vision and goals to the community, Acting UT President Eli Fly said.

This year the group has 72 members, and Joseph L. Johnson, owner of A&W Office Supply, is serving as chairman.

New members are:

Capt. Nate Allen of the Knoxville Police Department; Lars Anderson, regional president of BB&T; Leah Dalton Berry, senior manager of Federal Express; Bonnie Carpenter, counselor of College Search Consultants; Arthur Cate, chief operating officer of Knoxville Community Development Corp.; Cynthia Chapman, judge and referee of Knox County Juvenile Court.

Lucille Griffo, chief executive officer of Tanasi Girl Scout Council; Florence Johnston, community volunteer; Maribel Koella, attorney with Collins, Sharp & Koella; Bobbi McGarity, assistant superintendent of Knox County Schools; Robert Murrian, U.S. Magistrate Judge; King Purnell, president and CEO of SunTrust Bank of East Tennessee.

Claudia Ragsdale, broker with R.M. Moore Real Estate; Dean Skadberg, retired official of Proctor & Gamble; Mark Stephens, Knox County public defender; LeRoy Thompson, executive director of Wesley House Community Center; Rosalyn Tillman, dean of Pellississippi State Technical Community College; George Underwood, attorney; and Robert Witt of Witt Lumber Co.