Skip to main content

At its annual campus honors banquet, the University of Tennessee recognized students, faculty, staff and friends for their contributions to UT.

June Trbovich, program resource specialist in the management department, received this year’s Extraordinary Customer Service Award. It is given to an employee who routinely “goes the extra mile to help students, co-workers and the public.”

Omar Jackson, a senior from Atlanta, received the Gene Mitchell Gray Pioneer Award for promoting cultural diversity on campus. The Gray award honors the first African-American graduate student at UT. Jackson was honored for reactivating the Black Greek Letter Organization, a leadership group for black fraternities and sororities.

Faculty and staff recognized for service to the community were Mary Holtman of the alumni and development office; Dr. Arthur Echternacht, professor of ecology and evolutionary biology; and Dr. Ronald McFadden, director of the Educational Advancement Program.

Provost citations for campus leadership and service went to UT seniors Kathryn Wise, Matthew Thigpen, Amy Shuppert, Nancy Dickerson, Matthew Disney, Jennifer Gamble and James Schwab.

Also honored for service to UT were faculty and staff members Dr. Thomas W. Broadhead, William J. Lauer, J.J. Brown, Pamela Hindle and Janine Jennings.