Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE — Top graduates for the University of Tennessee’s Aug. 11 summer commencement have been announced.

Commencement is scheduled for 9 a.m. in Thompson-Boling arena.

Top graduates receive the distinction for having the highest point grade average in their college or unit. The top graduates, their hometowns, majors and colleges are:

Kenneth H. Mauldin, Memphis, agricultural economics and business, in the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources.

Jeanne L. Beattie, an English major from Knoxville, humanities, College of Arts and Sciences.

Thomas E. Cooper, a mathematics major from Dandridge, natural sciences, College of Arts and Sciences.

Valerie L. Malueg, a political science major from Knoxville, social sciences, College of Arts and Sciences.

Christian K.J. Horvath, Vienna, Austria, accounting, College of Business Administration.

Kathleen K. Kaplan, Toledo, Ohio, broadcasting, College of Communications.
Christopher H. Young, Jackson, Tenn., exercise science, College of Education.

Amy M. Akard, a chemical engineering major from Kingsport, College of Engineering.

Robert D. Gilliam, Manchester, Tenn., human resources development and industrial education, College of Human Ecology.

Dr. Barbara Hatton, president of Knoxville, will give the commencement address. UT President J. Wade Gilley will preside.