Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

Teaching, research and creative achievement awards went to 24 UT faculty Wednesday at the annual honors convocation.

Named UT National Alumni Association Outstanding Teachers were: Dr. Marcus Ambrester, associate professor of speech communication; Dr. Edwin Burdette, professor of civil and environmental engineering; Dr. Marilyn Kallett, professor of English; Dr. Candace White, assistant professor of journalism.

Dr. Thomas Hood, professor of sociology, was presented the alumni association’s public service award for his work with the Community Reading Program.

Excellence in Teaching Awards went to Dr. Ann Fairhurst, human ecology; Dr. April Morgan, political science; Dr. Euridice Silva-Filho, modern foreign languages; Dr. Steven Roberts, political science; Lauren Lukkarila, modern foreign languages; and Suzan Murphy, finance.

Recognized with Research and Creative Achievement Awards were Dr. Martha Alligood, nursing; Dr. Christine Boake, ecology and evolutionary biology; Dr. David Brian, microbiology; Dr. Lyle Konigsberg, anthropology; Dr. Gary McCracken, ecology and evolutionary biology; Dr. Michael McKinney, geological sciences; Dr. Anthony Pedraza, materials science and engineering; and Dr. Jay Whelan, nutrition.

Young researchers who received research and professional promise awards were Dr. Joseph Bartges, veterinary medicine; Dr. Peter Hoyng, modern foreign languages; Dr. Matthew Mauldon, civil engineering; Dr. Kenneth Mostern, English; and Dr. Debra Wallace, nursing.