Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

Dr. Beth Mullin received UT’s highest faculty honor at the university’s honors convocation Wednesday.

Mullin, a professor of botany, will carry the Mace at academic functions, including commencement, during the next academic year.

The Macebearer Award is symbolic of the faculty’s commitment to serve students and society. Mullin was honored for a 20-year career of excellence in teaching, research and outreach.

Amy Hess, professor of law, and Dr. Alfred Legendre, a professor of small animal clinical services in the College of Veterinary Medicine, were named Distinguished Service Professors. They will carry that title for the remainder of their careers at UT.

Winner of the Alexander Prize, named for former governor and UT president Lamar Alexander, was Dr. Paul Ashdown, professor of journalism. The Alexander Prize recognizes teaching and research.

Receiving the Jefferson Prize were Dr. David L. Dungan, professor of religious studies, and Dr. Yen-Ping Hao, professor of history.

Dr. Nina Elliott, assistant provost, received an honors citation for community service work with the Leukemia Society, the Women at Risk program, and with her church, Sentertown Missionary Baptist.