Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

A 16-person dean-s search committee has been appointed at the University of Tennessee College of Veterinary Medicine. The committee will seek and review candidates to succeed Dr. Mike Shires, who has announced his retirement effective July, 2000. Shires has been dean since 1990.

Dr. Jack Britt, UT vice president for agriculture, named Dr. D. J. Krahwinkel, head of the Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences, as chair of the committee. Other members include: Dr. Frank Andrews, professor, Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences; Dr. Laurie Blanco, 2nd year resident; Dr. David Brian, professor, Department of Microbiology; Dr. Jack Britt, Institute of Agriculture vice president; Dr. Bob Coley, private practitioner, New Market; Tonya Cromwell, assistant to the dean; Dr. Becky Gompf, associate professor, Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences; Dr. Jim Hammon, Jr., TVMA president; Dr. Mike Jones, assistant professor, Department of Comparative Medicine; Dr. George Kabalka, professor, Department of Chemistry; Kathy Lewis, president, Class of 2002; Dr. Craig Reinemeyer, private industry; Dr. Kelly Robbins, head, Department of Animal Science; Dr. Hildegard Schuller, professor, Department of Pathology; and Dr. Ronald Wilson, state veterinarian.

Krahwinkel said the committee hopes to begin reviewing candidates in January and asks that nominations be directed to any committee member.