Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. — Dr. Ronald Kirkland, a Jackson physician, will head the University of Tennessee’s 240,000-member alumni association for the next 12 months.

Kirkland, who earned two degrees from UT, was elected president of UT’s National Alumni Association Friday. UT has 110 alumni chapters worldwide.

Lynn Fain of Knoxville is the group’s president-elect. Fain, 1972 fine arts graduate of UT-Knoxville, is a Knoxville Utilities Board Commissioner, a member and past chairman of the Helen Ross McNabb Mental Health Center, and a past president of the Junior League of Knoxville.

Other officers are:
*Felicia Lightner, South Fulton, Tenn., vice president.
*James Duke Jr., Memphis, treasurer.
*Hunter Wright, Kingsport, national chairman of annual giving.

Kirkland is an otolaryngologist with the Jackson Clinic. He earned his medical degree at UT-Memphis in 1977 after receiving the bachelor of science at UT-Martin.

He is a member of the UT Development Council and the UT-Martin Development Committee and is past president of the Jackson Rotary Club.