Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. — The University of Tennessee College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources in Knoxville has announced outstanding faculty awards for the 1998-99 academic year.

The W.F. and Golda Moss Outstanding Teaching Award for professors with more than 10 years of service was presented to Dr. Ann Draughon of Knoxville, a professor in food science and technology who co-directs the Tennessee Food Safety Initiative and teaches food microbiology and food toxicology.

The Moss Award for professors with less than 10 years of service went to Dr. F. Neal Schrick, Knoxville, an assistant professor in animal science who specializes in reproductive physiology and management and advises student clubs and activities.

The W.S. Overton Faculty Merit Award for notable contributions to the development of students went to Dr. John Brooker, Concord, a professor of agricultural economics who advises UT’s chapter of the National Agricultural Marketing Association and is coordinator of the department’s graduate program.

The Neal and Tacie Peacock Teaching Certificates for innovation in the classroom went to Dr. Henry G. Kattesh of Maryville, associate professor in animal science, and Dr. John C. Rennie, Knoxville, professor in forestry.

Kattesh helped design and produce a CD-ROM program for teaching functional anatomy in farm animals. Rennie revised his course in land measurement techniques to incorporate global positioning technology.

The Buford Ellington Distinguished Faculty Award went to Dr. Arnold M. Saxton, Maryville, professor in statistical services. The award recognizes animal science faculty for teaching, service and other scholarly achievements. Saxton also serves as a statistical consultant for graduate students and faculty.

The award for Outstanding Faculty Advising went to Dr. William E. Hart, Knoxville, an associate professor in agricultural and biosystems engineering who specializes in machinery systems and applications. He is faculty mentor for the UT 1/4-scale tractor design team that placed fourth nationwide.