Skip to main content

Four UT seniors were named Torchbearer, the university’s highest student award, at Wednesday-s campus honors banquet.

UT-Knoxville Chancellor Bill Snyder presented the award to John Adam Flatt of Hendersonville, Jennifer Jean Rosenbaum of Germantown, Boyd Richards of Brownsville, and Laura Lee Rappe of Franklin.

Torchbearers are involved in numerous campus activities, such as student government, the Senior Class Challenge, and sororities and fraternities. They also participate in off-campus community organizations.

Richards was student government president and Rappe vice president.

Seven seniors were honored for campus leadership and service: Jasmine Hatcher of Knoxville; Mark Jones of Maumelle, Ark.; Clinton Lafferty of Decaturville; Whit Lee of Bell Buckle; Ralph Smith of Cedar Hill; Katherine Todd of Brentwood; and Charles Winters of Harriman.

The national championship football and the conference champion Lady Vol basketball teams were recognized for contributions to campus life. The UTK Ambassadors and Student Alumni Associates also were presented citations for campus contributions.

Receiving Chancellor-s Citations for community service were the Dance Marathon Council, which in four years has raised $70,000 for East Tennessee Children-s Hospital, Panhellenic Council, which raised $4,000 this year for community agencies; and Melissa Alison Jakes, who coordinated campus activities for Habitat for Humanity.