Skip to main content

MEMPHIS, Tenn. — A 27-member panel will advise the University of Tennessee board of trustees on its selection of a new UT president.

A search committee of eight trustees, meeting here Tuesday, appointed the advisory panel of students, faculty, staff, alumni and donors. Retired UT-Martin Chancellor Margaret Perry will chair the group.

Dr. Joe Johnson told the board this spring he will leave office in June 1999 or when his successor is in place.

The search committee interviewed representatives of two national search firms that would assist in identifying candidates for the UT presidency.

The committee will meet by telephone conference call at 11 a.m. (EST), Tuesday, Sept. 22, to consider a contract with one of the firms. The meeting will originate from the Office of the General Counsel, 719 Andy Holt Tower.

“This (the advisory panel) is a good group of people who were identified with the help of our chancellors and vice presidents,” Bill Sansom, chairman of the search committee, said.

“Seven minorities are among the 10 women and 17 men on the advisory panel, and about half of the members are elected representatives of faculty and student groups at our five campuses.”

Other advisory committee members are:

Dan Wheeler, Tennessee commissioner of agriculture; Hunter Wright, president of the UT National Alumni Association; John Thornton of Chattanooga, chairman of the UT Development Council.

Ivory Lyles, district director of UT agricultural extension; Dr. Sharon Patton, professor of veterinary medicine; Mary Taylor, assistant director, UT Institute for Public Service; Dr. Katherine High, UT associate vice president for academic affairs.

Representing UT-Chattanooga are: Dr. Verbie Prevost, president of the faculty council; Skip Pond, president of the student government association; John Guerry, chair of the University of Chattanooga Foundation; George Ross, vice chancellor for business and finance.

From UT-Martin: Dr. Jerald Ogg, president of the faculty senate; Dr. Frank Black, professor of education and former vice chancellor for academic affairs; Jessica Peccolo, president of SGA.

From UT-Memphis: Dr. Dianne Greenhill, faculty senate president; Steve Martin, SGA president; Odell Horton, vice chancellor for university relations.

From UT-Knoxville: Dr. Mark Miller, faculty senate president; Boyd Richards, SGA president; Kandesha Washington, president of the graduate student council; Dr. Harold Black, professor of finance; Dr. Harry McSween, professor of geological sciences; Dr. Anne Mayhew, associate dean of arts and sciences; Dr. Clifton Woods, associate vice chancellor for academic affairs.

From the UT Space Institute: Dr. Monty Smith, president of the faculty assembly; Sheri Hlady, SGA president.

Members of the trustees search committee in addition to Sansom are: Jim Haslam, Knoxville, vice chair; Roger Dickson, Chattanooga; Steve Ennis, Tullahoma; Lucy Shaw, Arnold Perl and Johnnie Amonette of Memphis; and Clayton McWhorter, Nashville.

Contact: Sammie Lynn Puett (423-974-1542)