Skip to main content

Four UT-Knoxville faculty members, including a former chancellor, were named alumni outstanding teachers at Wednesday’s Honors Banquet.

 The 1997 UT National Alumni Outstanding Teachers are: Dr. Cary Collins, associate professor of finance; Dr. Ronald Hopson, professor of psychology; Dr. Roger Parsons, professor of mechanical engineering; and Dr. Jack Reese, University Professor of English and former chancellor.

 The alumni award is considered UT’s highest recognition for teaching.

 Dr. June Gorski, professor of health, leisure and safety sciences, was presented the national alumni public service award for her work on community health issues.

 The university recognized Dr. William Hart, associate professor of agricultural engineering; Dr. Virginia Kupritz, assistant professor of interior design; Dr. William Larsen, instructor of English; and Dr. Daniel Ward, associate professor of veterinary science, with excellence in teaching citations.

 Honored for their work advising students were Dr. Jeffrey Kovac, professor of chemistry; Dr. Gary Lessman, associate professor of plant and soil science; and Dr. Yulan Washburn, professor of Asian and romance languages.

 Three members of the UT-Knoxville staff were cited for customer service:

 * Kathryn Gross, senior secretary in the department of audiology and speech pathology.

 * Bill Honeycutt, senior maintenance supervisor.

 * Bonita Lax, cashier in parking services.


 Contact: John Clark (974-2225)