Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

UT Names Five Torchbearers (302)

Five new Torchbearers, including one from Knoxville, were recognized Wednesday at UT-Knoxville’s Honors Banquet.  Stephen R. Kennedy, a chemical engineering major from Knoxville, was among those receiving the university’s highest student award for leadership and service. For the first time this year, Torchbearers received a special medal for their selection.  Other 1997 Torchbearers are: Kelly

UT Names Outstanding Teachers, Cites Service (210)

Four UT-Knoxville faculty members, including a former chancellor, were named alumni outstanding teachers at Wednesday’s Honors Banquet.  The 1997 UT National Alumni Outstanding Teachers are: Dr. Cary Collins, associate professor of finance; Dr. Ronald Hopson, professor of psychology; Dr. Roger Parsons, professor of mechanical engineering; and Dr. Jack Reese, University Professor of English and former

Prados UT Macebearer (292)

Dr. John Prados, who has been at the University of Tennessee 41 years as a professor and administrator, has been named Macebearer, UT-Knoxville’s top faculty award.  Prados, professor of chemical engineering and former vice president for academic affairs, will carry the symbolic mace at commencement and other academic functions. The mace represents the faculty’s commitment