Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE, Tenn.– Two Claiborne County students who will enter the University of Tennessee-Knoxville this fall have won $1,000 scholarships to support their studies.

Billy M. Sams II is the winner of the Shade and Dollie Pressnell Scholarship. Kevin L. Hatfield won the Faye Pressnell Layne award.

The scholarships were created by Gene and Cecil Stickle and members of the Presnell family to encourage graduates of Claiborne County High School to attend UT-Knoxville. Scholarship recipients can receive the stipends for up to four years if they maintain good academic standing.

Sams, who plans to earn a degree in veterinary medicine, is the son of Billy and Nancy Sams.

Hatfield, son of Mike and Sandy Hatfield, will work toward a degree in physical therapy.

Claiborne County students currently holding the Presnell Scholarship are Misty Cope, Melody Lambert and Susan Rowe. Eugene Watkins will continue to hold the Layne Scholarship for the 1996-97 academic year.

Contact: Dorothy Bryson (423-974-5045)