Skip to main content

Eight seniors, including a Knoxvillian, were named Torchbearer at UT-Knoxville’s campus honors banquet Wednesday night.

Keith Townsend of Powell, immediate past president of the Student Government Association, was among the eight who received the campus’ highest student honor. Several other student awards were presented at the banquet, hosted by UT-Knoxville Chancellor Bill Snyder.

Seventy students received Chancellor’s Citations for academic accomplishments and professional promise. Townsend, a political science major, served on the Athletics Board, the UT board of trustees student affairs committee and the Metropolitan Drug Commission.

Other Torchbearers are: Amanda Biggers of Selmer; Jeffrey Cathey of Tullahoma; Mamar Gelaye of Byron, Ga.; Catherine Harrison of Morristown; Adam Hofeler of Cincinnati, Ohio; Candice Reed of Ooltewah; and Leah Sparks of Brentwood.

Holly Hamilton, a pre-med senior from Corryton, was among six students receiving citations for campus leadership and service. Hamilton, who plans to practice medicine in the state, chaired this year’s Senior Gift Challenge and served as vice president of Mortar Board honor society.

Other leadership winners: Kimberly Crane of Columbia; Cheryl Gray of Denmark, Tenn.; Matthew Hardin of Cookeville; Megan McInnis of Jackson; and Troy Williams of Newport News, Va.

The Panhellenic Council, made of the campus’s sororities, and United Residence Hall Association were recognized with citations for contributions to campus life. Stephen “Bubba” Miller, former Vol football lineman from Franklin, and J. Larry Minton II of Birmingham, Ala., were honored for community service.

Miller donated 30 hours a week during the summer to the Boys and Girls Club of Knoxville and was named to the College Football Association’s “Good Works” team. Minton does volunteer work at Children’s Hospital and Goodwill Industries.

This year’s outstanding graduate teacher awards were given to:

* Elizabeth Atwood-Gailey, communications.

* Maria Bachman, English.

* Stephenie (cq) Hammons, botany.

* David Stewart, finance.

* Renee Walker, anthropology.

Jennifer L. Jones, a senior in the College of Arts and Sciences from Knoxville, was presented a Women of Achievement award. She currently chairs the Women’s Coordinating Council and is a member of the Commission for Women.