Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

Twelve UT-Knoxville faculty were recognized for service, research and creative achievement and scholarship at the Chancellor’s Honors Banquet.

Dr. Harry Rutledge, professor and former head of the classics department, was named Macebearer, UT-Knoxville’s highest faculty honor. He will carry the Mace, a symbol of the faculty’s commitment to public service and scholarship, at commencement and other academic ceremonies.

Rutledge’s colleagues have called him ”a scholar without peer, superb classroom teacher, and loyal university professor.” He chaired the classics department for 22 years before returning to full-time teaching.

Dr. Norman Sanders, English professor, received the Alexander Prize. Lamar and Honey Alexander established the prize with First Tennessee National Corp. and Martin Marietta Corp. before he left the UT presidency. The award goes to a faculty member who best exemplifies the teacher-scholar.

Sanders is known internationally for his scholarly works on Renaissance English literature and Shakespeare. Last year, the South Atlantic Association of Departments of English presented him its highest award for distinguished teaching.

Four faculty members were named Distinguished Service Professors. Each will receive a yearly salary stipend while they are full-time faculty members at the university.

They are: Dr. Gordon Burghardt, psychology and zoology; Dr. George Kalbalka, chemistry; Linda Phillips, head of cooperative information services for university libraries; and Dr. Larry Wadsworth, College of Human Ecology professor and director of the Textiles and Nonwovens Development Center.

Six faculty members received chancellor’s citations for research and creative achievement.

The honorees are Dr. David Baker, chemistry; Dr. Carl Lundin, materials science and engineering; Dr. James R. Thompson Jr., physics; Dr. Mary Helen McCay, UT Space Institute; Dr. Gary Stacey, microbiology; and Dr. Sandra Thomas, nursing.