Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. — The University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture presented nine awards for outstanding accomplishments last week at its annual awards and promotion luncheon.

The Webster Pendergrass Award for Outstanding Service was presented to Dr. Charles M. Farmer, a professor of agricultural economics and resource development with the UT Agricultural Extension Service. The award is presented to the faculty member judged to have contributed most to fulfilling the institute’s goals.

Dr. Roland Mote, agricultural engineering professor, received the B. Ray Thompson Sr. Award for Outstanding Faculty Performance.

The W.S. Overton Distinguished Professorship in Agriculture, a new award presented to an outstanding senior member of the agriculture faculty, went to Dr. Fred Tompkins, a professor of agricultural engineering.

Judy D. Smith, extension leader in Bradley County, received the William D. Bishop Faculty Award for Outstanding Service. The award recognizes an outstanding member of the field force of the UT Extension Service.

For outstanding service by a support staff member, print shop supervisor Lucy Jett received the E.J. Chapman Award.

The Dutch and Marilee Cavender Awards recognize an outstanding research publication and an outstanding educational publication. Winning this year’s educational award was Dr. John B. Sharp, Extension Service professor of forestry, wildlife and fisheries, for his publication titled ”Wood Identification: A Manual for the Non-Professional.”

The publication ”Phosphate and Potash Fertilization of Soybeans Produced on Loess-derived Soils” earned the research award for Dr. Donald D. Howard, professor of plant and soil science, and Dr. Gary M. Lessman, associate professor of plant and soil science.

Louie R. ”Bo” Freeman, extension leader in Sequatchie County, received the Vernon and Ida Darter Award for Excellence among associate extension agents.

The Thomas J. Whatley Distinguished Young Scientist Award went to Dr. Robert N. Trigiano, an associate professor in ornamental horticulture and landscape design.