Skip to main content

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. — Annie Martin Mitchell, a former president of the Tennessee State Parent Teachers Association, has been elected president of the University of Tennessee National Alumni Association.

Mitchell, of Sparta, will lead the university’s

200,000-member alumni association during the 1991-92 academic year. Officers were elected at the association’s annual board of governors meeting here Saturday.

Other new officers are:

J. Robert Barger, Lavinia, Tenn., president-elect; Lyle Key Jr., Jacksonville, Fla., vice president; and Jimmy Jackson, Hixson, Tenn., treasurer.

James L. Thomas, alumni association past president, was named national chairman of annual giving.

Mitchell received the B.S. degree magna cum laude in home economics at UT-Knoxville in 1942. She is a housewife.

She has served as secretary and president of the White County chapter of the UT National Alumni Association and has chaired the NAA Women’s Council. She was NAA treasurer in


Barger, senior vice president of Carroll Bank and Trust, earned the bachelor’s and master’s degrees from UT-Martin. He served as NAA treasurer in 1990-91.

He is a member of the board of governors, the current president of the Carroll County alumni chapter, and has served on several alumni association committees.

Key is a 1967 UT-Knoxville business administration graduate and is an attorney with CSX Transportation in Jacksonville. He is a former president of the Jacksonville and Louisville, Ky., alumni chapters.

Jackson, a certified public accountant, earned the bachelor’s in accounting in 1969 from UT-Chattanooga. He is the immediate past president of the UTC Alumni Council and served as its treasurer in 1988-89.

Thomas earned the bachelor’s and master’s degrees in agriculture from UT-Knoxville. He is an official of Pen Trading Co. in Brentwood.

”The university is very fortunate to have alumni who contribute so much of their time, talent and resources in leading our association and making it outstanding,” said David M. Roberts, associate vice president for alumni affairs.

The 78-member board of governors is the policy-making organization for the UT National Alumni Association.